Tags

, ,

What we do or do not do in this life should come from our alliance with God, and with the reliance His word is true.”
Russell D. Holder

 

I had what some might call a disturbing incident happen yesterday. It happened to be on a website called LinkedIn… a website for and with professional people. This is but one of the most disturbing things, in our culture (today) we have many professionals (so called) that do not seem to understand the profound difference between protagonist and antagonist. Allow me to share with you (the reader) the difference, seen below…

 
Protagonist: advocate, supporter, proponent, apologist… with the antonym being an opponent

 

Antagonist: adversary, enemy, foe, rival, in opposition to… with the antonym being an ally

 
As it turns out, I posted a comment on an article, one speaking of Jesus Christ, and there was a reference to the image of Jesus. My comment said,”The image of Jesus we recognize today comes from the Renaissance period.” I’m making a historical point about the image. The comment came in, I do believe the man to be Jewish (hence the need or desire to emphasize that fact), being,”… he was Jewish too.” I did notice a pattern in the posts, and I did not think it to be ‘pushy’ at the time. There were three central points brought out during his comments: the Bible, Jesus was Jewish and a mention of the word Brother.

 

Of these three points of interest: the Bible, Jesus being Jewish and Brother, there was also mention the man was well versed in the Bible. From all the things coming into play, yesterday, Jan. 18th, 2017, there was a series of misunderstandings… one after another- leading to a complete and total shut-down. By shut-down… I’m implying: blocking any attempt to communicate, a removal of identity (to tell the person from anyone else… now a generic image of a person but remaining anonymous) and decisions about who or what I am being set in stone or concrete. His mind was made up… and this is how it is. I would call it ‘disturbing’ on a couple of different levels. Let me explain.

 

The man, before shutting me out and cutting me off, sent me a message.

 

1:39 PM
Your writing is very condescending… I know the Bible well brother… Be blessed.

 

So I send one back…

 

2:13 PM
You imply your view of me is belittling, have I insulted you?

 

Just 5 mins. Later comes this from him…

 

2:19 PM
NO I imply your view of me belittling…as if I have no knowledge of scripture… I by no means know all… always learning… my favorite pass time… but I am well versed… no worries… Be blessed.

 

In other posts, on the original article I posted, I mention one of my favorite passages (which is and reads thusly), Galatians 3:28 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male or female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus. I also spoke of Jesus this way, Jesus is Spirit first, then Jewish… now back to the eternality He began with- Spirit. Galatians 3:23 sums this up for me, how about you? Within 30 mins. Comes this (the last) comment…

 

2:58 PM
And by the way trying to show me you write a blog sympathetic to Jews does not show you are not condescending to your fellow brother in Christ… it just demonstrates your further arrogance… you are full of yourself…

 

This is where and when everything went sideways! This is also one of the most disturbing things and yet asked at the same time. Here again… I will explain.

 

There were posts I made, using generalities, that were taken personally. Things I posted were perceived to be either argumentative or in opposition to what was said by another. If one cannot confirm what they are looking at is not an attack on themselves or to what they believe; which holds the opposite to be true as well… when an individual thinks that everything being said is an attack against themselves or against what they believe- we find there is an issue with their IFF system being used [Identification: Friend or Foe]. I do not fault the man for what he perceived or seek to attack anyone of the faith in Jesus Christ- we are in the beginnings of the end times prophecy affecting the day we live in. It comes down to how important the message of love for our fellow believers has (truly) become.

 

After I placed a few comments on the original article, it was assumed to be written to belittle anyone, and I was arrogant. Unfortunately, I see arrogance and ignorance being the two sides on the coin called pride. Pride cares only for the self… seeks to have its own way… and does not want to be anything less than what it thinks it is, or has something coming it desires. If the truth be told… I would rather be thought wrong for doing things right than be right and found to be doing it wrong, wouldn’t you? I have nothing in mind but to give the glory of my failings to Jesus Christ. I would gladly tell you of my successes and attribute them to the glory Jesus has bestowed upon me.

 

After being an incest survivor, struggling with drug addiction in my childhood (to deny what happened to me the sting)… I went to school on the G.I. Bill and faced my own demons. I forgave my Father… to get past any trauma you must go through the stages and steps of recovery. Shock… what just happened, Denial… that didn’t just happen,
Anger… damn it, that happened to me!, Acceptance… Yes it happened- now how can God use this. Is this arrogance… I ask?

 

[Arrogance is to pride what boldness is to the faithful]

 

1 John 4:17 Herein is our love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgement: because as he is, so are we in the world.

 

James 1:19 Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:

 

I would not wish what has happened to me, in my life, on another. I would pray for all my Brothers and Sisters in Christ Jesus… that they would have patience to forbearance found from love, and not cling to false notions of faith. To have the knowledge of scripture, from the Bible, means to begin learning we are to build one another up- not seek to tear ourselves apart. There comes the day (very soon) we will need the strength and support only a Brother or Sister in Christ Jesus can provide- compassionate love and long suffering patience. You will consider it, won’t you? I hope you will! (D.V.)

 

I remain, your Brother in Christ Jesus,

 

Russ

