“And I stood”

As I found the strength, I stood,

and it really didn’t come from outside…

I found it came from the inside-

from a calm place of need I found,

and it really didn’t come from outside…

it had nothing to do with company,

from a calm place of need I found,

but the need could not be denied,

it had nothing to do with company,

a compulsion uplifted my soul,

but the need could not be denied,

my feet moved as if by reflex,

a compulsion uplifted my soul,

I bowed, knelt and accepted Him-

my feet moved as if by reflex,

my soul renewed, brimming over, full…

I bowed, knelt and accepted Him-

I found it came from the inside,

my soul renewed, brimming over, full…

as I found the strength, I stood.

This style of poem is called a “pantoum”

and both are found on a page in my first book-

here is the second version…

“As I stood”

As I found the strength, I stood,

and it really didn’t come from outside…

I found it came from the inside-

from a calm place of need I found,

it had nothing to do with company,

but the need could not be denied,

a compulsion uplifted my soul,

my feet moved as if by reflex,

I bowed, knelt and accepted Him,

my soul renewed, brimming over, full…

to feel complete, not empty… still,

in a world that drives us forward,

in my life I’ve faced many trials,

and in each and every time called,

when I felt I could take no more…

as I felt the strength, I stood.

Exodus 8:10 KJV And he said, Tomorrow. And he said, Be it according to thy word: that thou mayest know that there is none like unto the LORD our God.

Psalm 14:1 KJV The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good.

Psalm 18:41 KJV They cried, but there was none to save them: even unto the LORD, but he answered them not.

Psalm 25:3 KJV Yea, let none that wait on thee be ashamed: let them be ashamed which transgress without cause.

Psalm 33:10 KJV The LORD bringeth the counsel of the heathen to nought: he maketh the devices of the people of none effect.

Jeremiah 4:22 KJV For my people is foolish, they have not known me; they are sottish children, and they have none understanding: they are wise to do evil, but to do good they have no knowledge.

Lamentations 1:17 KJV Zion spreadeth forth her hands, and there is none to comfort her: the LORD hath commanded concerning Jacob, that his adversaries should be round about him: Jerusalem is as a menstruous woman among them.

Ezekiel 7:25 KJV Destruction cometh; and they shall seek peace, and there shall be none.

Ezekiel 39:28 KJV

Then shall they know that I am the LORD their God, which caused them to be led into captivity among the heathen: but I have gathered them unto their own land, and have left none of them any more there.

