Tags

, , , ,

The word of God, the Bible, has much suffering… spoken from the days of old and to the days ahead. Some of the suffering is brought upon us from our own actions or our inactions- brought on by disobedience to the word of God directly or a failure to recognize what it is actually telling us for our own benefit. All to often, myself included, I will read something that cuts to the bone… a truth of God (something that was there all along) told all of us and I was either unaware of it or just did not know it to be true. This is where I will and do suffer from something (having been unfamiliar with it) that has been brought on by my own ignorance to all God has clearly put forth in His word. To be forced to see the significance to what the revelation might be and how it has impacted my own life is the wonder of God’s word… the life He would have us lead is one to be found following in His same footsteps.

I can clearly state, beyond the shadows of my own limitations, the word of God is a must read for any one that claims themselves to be a believer and a follower- a christian. Many are the days to come where we will learn of others that believe and know they are suffering in ways we are unfamiliar with. In the U.S. it is not as if we are accustomed to this notion, of suffering, but throughout the rest of the world… there are many that do suffer for what they believe, and that belief they suffer for is found to be christianity itself. For their belief in Jesus are they currently suffering, and I heard one Pastor, a man from India, put it this way,“If you are not suffering… then what are you doing wrong?” I had never heard it put quite this way before but find great the truth to what he said. From America’s foundation, from the beginning of this country, we have always enjoyed religious freedom… even if we did not grant it to another that might have been different from us to begin with. Even they found the greatest truth to be realized here… that we are all the same, and took appropriate steps to attain what was rightfully theirs to claim. The truth be known, and told, there comes the day where we too shall be made to suffer for what we believe… as hard as that is to fathom.

As always, I would request that you pray first… prior to reading the scripture provided, that you might be granted a deeper understanding of God’s word and find the truth of God within your heart when it is over.
________________

Scripture:

Job 36:2 Suffer me a little, and I will shew thee that I have yet to speak on God’s behalf.

Psalm 9:13 Have mercy upon me, O LORD; consider my trouble which I suffer of them that hate me, thou that liftest me up from the gates of death:

Psalm 16:10 For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.

Psalm 55:22 Cast thy burden upon the LORD, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved .

Ecclesiastes 5:12 The sleep of a labouring man is sweet, whether he eat little or much : but the abundance of the rich will not suffer him to sleep .

1 Corinthians 4:12 And labour, working with our own hands: being reviled, we bless; being persecuted, we suffer it :

2 Corinthians 1:6 And whether we be afflicted, it is for your consolation and salvation, which is effectual in the enduring of the same sufferings which we also suffer: or whether we be comforted, it is for your consolation and salvation.

Philippians 1:29 For unto you it is given in the behalf of Christ, not only to believe on him, but also to suffer for his sake ;

1 Timothy 4:10 For therefore we both labour and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Saviour of all men, specially of those that believe.

2 Timothy 2 is the scripture to finish with (“Thou therefore, my son {and daughter}, be strong…”) and you can read it all here, or listen to the entirety here.
______________

To the understanding that we will suffer for our faith… this is the determination of our LORD and Savior, of God Himself and His Father. Who are we to think we will not have to suffer for the love we claim to have… without having gone through our own tribulations before the great tribulation mankind will be forced to go through themselves. To know His love and desire His love is to also be ready for what the world will do to us for going against what the world believes on its own… for having the nerve to believe differently than they do, for doing things as God says to do them and not be led by your own passions as they say are OK to do. Shall we not be better off by listening to all God says to do… and to know what suffering we may go through is but for a little while- compared to an eternity without God among us. If this is what my LORD says I must go through then I pray for strength… and I ask for His comforter to aid me in this endeavor, will you? (D.V.)

Your Brother in Christ Jesus,

Russ

You can also find it here…

http://www.redbubble.com/groups/mustard-seeds-and-lilies/forums/12650/topics/284755-bible-study-for-june-22nd-2012-shall-we-not-suffer-the-worlds-persecution-be-ready

as it was first published there.

